The first pot I glazed was completely dipped in the 1,2,3 glaze, then I partially dipped it in the celadon glaze to give the lip a different color. Overall I am happy about how this turned out but I do not like where you can see my finger were when I re-dipped it. The second pot i glazed was much smaller and is my personal favorite. For this one, I used wax to paint a geometric design on it. Then i dipped it in the Tenmoku glaze, giving it the perfect iron red finish and leaving the design visible to the eye.  One thing I would change is the cleanup process of this pot. I thought that the wax would completely resist all of the glaze firing into it, so i did not clean up the line work or wipe away the tenmoku which I regret. But I am very happy with the final product. Finally I did another dip, but this time I learned from my mistake and used the wax to my advantage. First i dipped the entire outside of the potinto Shino, I did this first so my pot would not be cursed. Then i painted in wax over the shino covering the outside leaving about an inch uncovered. Second, I dipped the whole pot into tenmoku and the let it dry. Then I went back in with a sponge and cleared off the glaze covering the wax. I am very happy with this pot and the use of techniques learned throughout this process have really helped me to understand this new glazing process.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *