Developing Art Making Skills and Observing

Creating a coiled vessel is never easy. I constructed one earlier for my jar, but it was completely straight. There were no curvatures or change in shape, and it was slightly uneven. This time around, I am creating a heart shaped vase, this type of work is very difficult (especially when your form is not completely rounded, like mine). I have to learn new techniques and develop new skills to efficiently finish this project in time for mother’s day.  For this particular project, we are using templates to make our forms even and perfect. I had to use my observation skills to realize that my form is not going to be the same on all sides. Even though I  had already began, I used my observation skills once more, and saw a class mate using the paddle to change the shape of his form. I also just got my mug out of the kiln today. I have never used templates before, but I developed new art making skills by using this new decorative technique.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *